Skip to Main Content

Disclosure of Contributions

Maryland Law requires persons doing business with Maryland Government and person employing lobbyists to file a Disclosure of Contributions. Reports are due every six months on November 30 and May 31 with the transaction period ending the last day of the month prior to the due date. There is also an initial report that a person doing business with the State is required to file at the time the government contract is entered into.

Electronic Filing Requirements:

Who is required to file

  1. Any person with a single contract with a single governmental entity of $200,000 or more.
  2. A person who provides lobbyist compensation of $500 or more.

    Special Rules for Not-for-Profit Organizations

    1. A contribution made by an individual who serves as a trustee or member of the board of directors of a not-for-profit organization is not attributable to the organization and does not need to be reported unless:
      1. The contribution is made at the recommendation of the organization; or
      2. The individual who made the contribution is paid by the organization.
    2. A contribution by an officer of a not-for-profit organization is attributable to the organization and must be reported unless the officer is not paid and the organization is filing this disclosure report only because it employs a lobbyist.